I am fearfully and wonderfully made, and don’t you forget it!

In February 2012, I started a journey to get healthy and feel better about myself.  My twins were not quite one year old yet, and I felt horrible.  I had no energy, I felt fat, and did not know what to do. I hated seeing myself in pictures and videos.  That was when I saw a friend of mine on Facebook who had experienced a total transformation over a period of several years.  It was when I saw a photo of her and said “WOW”, that I knew she had found something.  Her spirits were high; she was so encouraging to others; she seemed very content. 

In my first four weeks of my first Team Beachbody challenge, I lost 22 lbs. and 28 inches off my body… I felt great!  It has been up and down since – an early morning workout is hard to maintain when boys are growing and stages are passing (teething, sickness, growth).  But, I can still say that I weigh less than I did before having my first son over five years ago.  I still have a long way to go, but I am down two sizes in pants in the past two years.  I feel healthier than I ever have, but I still struggle with being happy in my own skin.

Isn’t it amazing how some kid’s comment in middle school can stick with you the rest of your life?  Why do we remember these horrible comments said in a pre-pubescent ignorance?  Why do these words stick and God’s words do not?  Isn’t God more trustworthy than the kid we rode the bus with when we were 12?  

“I am fearfully and wonderfully made.”

 “For you formed my inward parts;

You wove me in my mother’s womb.  I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; 

Wonderful are your works,

 And my soul knows it well.”

Psalm 139: 13-14

Oh, soul, if you know it so well, why do you forget it so often?  Why do circumstances get in the way of the Truth?  Why do others change in my mind what I know to be true of God?  How can it be, that one small word can have such a lasting impact on my heart and my mind?

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Claudia Guzman on May 7, 2016 at 10:40 pm

    We have so much in common! I can be related to you in so many things.
    I don’t feel comfortable in my own skin either, but I feel healthy. However, school and work is consuming to much of my time and energy. Thank to God it is over until August!
    This summer I intend to work at La Plaza, spending time with my daughter and husband, and exercising everyday. Would like to enjoy me?
    We could get together and Zumba, walk at the canal, or whatever you want to!

    I am happy Michel will be able to teach this summer and help you with a second income.
    You guys are awesome teachers! You deserve the best!
    I am here if you need a friend!
    Xoxo

    Claudia

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Even A Girl Like Me

A Preacher's Kid... Prodigal Daughter... Sinner Saved by Grace... Redeemed...Recovered...Renewed

great plans for me

My journey of life and faith

reflection of mercy

Keepin' it real, simple, and grace-full.

Tricia Lott Williford

Author and Speaker

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

