Household duties

“She watches over the affairs of her household and does not eat the bread of idleness.” ~Proverbs 31:27

This verse is exactly where I am right now.  About a year and a half ago (or a little more than that), I was convicted of my idleness at home.  It wasn’t that I was not doing anything – I was overwhelmed by the fact that my family grew from three to five overnight.  I was overwhelmed by going back to work after only 8 weeks home with my twins – jumping right back into the ring…starting to travel immediately.  It was heartbreaking.  I was overwhelmed by the fact that financially, I could not stay home with my boys. 

I’m still overwhelmed at times, but now, I know God is with me.  At the time, for about a year and a half after the twins were born, I wasn’t taking care of my home well, I wasn’t cooking well, I was only able to go to work and take care of the boys.  Now, I’m learning to balance and juggle.  Sometimes I have better days than others, but at least my house looks like I care about it again, and I’m trying to get everything done.  I remember, during this time, reading Proverbs and realizing that my taking care of my home, my serving my family, was serving God.  I changed my perspective from the earthly one…that I’m not doing this for my family, but for God.  The job of a mom and a wife can be a thankless job at times.  We are constantly serving others, even to our own detriment at times.  We eat last, sleep last.  Even, everyone else gets their doctor/dentist appointments, but we forget about ours.  I recently went a year and a half without rescheduling a dentist appointment that I had to cancel.  That’s the life of a mom who is working with God to manage her household.

Leave a Reply

Even A Girl Like Me

A Preacher's Kid... Prodigal Daughter... Sinner Saved by Grace... Redeemed...Recovered...Renewed

great plans for me

My journey of life and faith

reflection of mercy

Keepin' it real, simple, and grace-full.

Tricia Lott Williford

Author and Speaker

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

