I can’t eat like you

I had a revelation this morning and told my husband, “I just can’t eat like you.”

February 1 I started a 30 day challenge to lose weight and change how I eat.  It’s going so well.

My husband can eat anything and not gain weight.  He has the metabolism of a 25 year old and is always moving.  I, on the other hand, have a metabolism like molasses.  I have to move more and eat better to feel good and lose weight.  I’m doing it and making progress.

I should have lost 20 lbs. before having my 3 year old.  I should have lost 35 lbs before having my 10 month old twins.  Needless to say, I’m doing this challenge for many reasons:  lose weight, be healthy, feel better about myself, have more energy, look better, to make myself and my family proud.

This morning, my husband revealed that the women in his past relationships always gained weight when they were dating him.  He even admitted some bad habits of bringing things home that most women should not eat, but love to eat.  And of course, it’s hard to sit with someone who’s eating something so good and….just drink water.  So, I’m letting him eat his “comfort food”, I’m sitting with him, spending time, but I don’t have to eat it too.  I can spend time with my husband and not eat what he eats, and not regret it.  I’m not jealous that he can eat it–I now know what’s in it and don’t WANT to eat it.

I can’t eat like you, and I’m OK with that.

Leave a Reply

Even A Girl Like Me

A Preacher's Kid... Prodigal Daughter... Sinner Saved by Grace... Redeemed...Recovered...Renewed

great plans for me

My journey of life and faith

reflection of mercy

Keepin' it real, simple, and grace-full.

Tricia Lott Williford

Author and Speaker

The Middlest Sister

There are 5 sisters. She's the middlest.

